LaKo’s Lesson of the Month: Be a kid. Have fun.

Peaches in MotionDo you remember when you looked forward to the next day? Have you recently let your inner child come out? If you answered no to both of these questions then you haven’t been having fun.

As adults, we juggle many responsibilities. Work. Spouse/Partner/Significant Other. Kids. Bills. Illness. And on and on. So much so that we often lose ourselves in the midst of doing what we have to do. Let me tell you that that’s no way to live. What are we doing those things for if we don’t take a minute to enjoy life and have something to look forward to? We know work is on the to do list for Monday morning, but do we look forward to it. Heck nawl!

That’s why I’m working hard at never growing up. Yes, I’m a responsible adult, but I want to remain in touch with the kid in me. I recently did this by taking a bike ride with similarly-minded women. Although I was only anticipating riding for five miles, ten at most, we actually rode for 20 miles.  Yes, 20 effing miles. There were a few times when I caught myself smiling for no reason at all.

If you watch the news or are connected via any social media platform, you know that the world is experiencing very challenging times. There are a lot of angry people out there. I’m willing to bet that those angry folks are not having fun. So, go out and be a kid again and have unfiltered fun.

Let me know what childlike fun you had or plan to have in the comments.

About LaKo

I'm a sports enthusiast who looks for lessons and analogies in sports and tries to apply those lessons to my personal and work life. In May 2013 I began my life as a runner with Black Girls Run!. Now, as a member of the Atlanta Track Club, I'm continuing my journey to preserve my sexy.
This entry was posted in LaKo's Lessons, Lesson of the Month, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LaKo’s Lesson of the Month: Be a kid. Have fun.

  1. Yolanda says:

    Fantastic Reminder !

Leave a Reply

