Grieving the Loss of Prince

IMG_3450On April 21, 2016, we lost an icon named Prince Rogers Nelson. Most of us were shocked and dumbfounded. It seemed we had just gotten him back. He was recording, putting out three albums in the last two years and touring. I could hear his happiness in the music. He was mentoring other artists like Judith Hill. On his Piano & a Microphone tour, it was reported that he would relay personal stories during his performance. So, it was like we were finally getting to know the notoriously private Prince. That made his death even harder to take.

When we lost Michael Jackson, another icon who is right up there with Prince, albeit for different reasons, I was just as shocked. So shocked in fact that I had to take a day off work to grieve. For a couple of years, I couldn’t listen to his music. I still haven’t watched the This Is It movie. Whitney Houston is another legend that we lost way too soon. I still can’t listen to her music. So, when Prince died, my natural instinct was to completely shut down to his music. But, it was everywhere. I tried staying off Facebook because of all the video performances being shared. I avoided the radio. But, while driving, I could hear his music blasting from other cars. I was walking around my subdivision and every other house was blasting a tune from the Purple Rain soundtrack. There was no avoiding Prince.

IMG_3589As Prince fans, you know that Prince was a huge basketball fan and a pretty good player back in his day. In team sports, you win as a team and you lose as a team. Taking that cue, this time I will grieve together with the rest of the world. From Prince’s 38 albums, I have roughly 27 and I’m pulling out all of them. I’m gonna Play in the Sunshine until the Purple Rain with my Diamonds & Pearls listening to the artist I Adore who was a Sexy M.F. cause Money Don’t Matter 2 Night in America.

How are you grieving the loss of Prince?

About LaKo

I'm a sports enthusiast who looks for lessons and analogies in sports and tries to apply those lessons to my personal and work life. In May 2013 I began my life as a runner with Black Girls Run!. Now, as a member of the Atlanta Track Club, I'm continuing my journey to preserve my sexy.
This entry was posted in The Mucus, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

