On Any Given Sunday

The Broncos defeated the Panthers in what to me was an upset. While imageI’ve always been a fan of Peyton Manning going back to his days at Tennessee, I thought the Panthers had the momentum coming into this game. I, like most of my circle of friends, got caught up in the hype of Cam Newton. So, when it started to become obvious that the Broncos were going to win, instead of being down and out about it, I tried to find the positive.

For me, I will let this Super Bowl 50 win for Peyton Manning and the Broncos serve as inspiration and motivation. Sometimes experience can trump youth and athleticism. I’m in my 40s and in only my 2nd semester of law school. There have been a couple of times where I’ve had a pity party because I know that in my youth, I would’ve crushed or at least competitively challenged most of the 20-something students in my class. But, as the old saying goes, “on any given Sunday.” Anything can happen on any given Sunday, that’s why we play the game. So, yes, I may have more on my plate and fewer brain cells than some of my classmates, but no excuses. On any given class day, I should be able to rise up to the challenge and go out on top, a la Peyton Manning. No excuses. Game ON!

 

About LaKo

I'm a sports enthusiast who looks for lessons and analogies in sports and tries to apply those lessons to my personal and work life. In May 2013 I began my life as a runner with Black Girls Run!. Now, as a member of the Atlanta Track Club, I'm continuing my journey to preserve my sexy.
This entry was posted in Management Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

