My Fantasy Work Team

Fantasy Work TeamAs I get ready to select my NFL fantasy team, I started thinking how lovely it would be if I could do this in real life at my place of employment. There are at least 3-4 former colleagues that i would love to bring back. So, if I could trade current employees to get them back I would gladly do it.

Then, I would scour the country for recent graduates to bring in the best and the brightest, with the right attitude of course. Some of you might recall how Magic Johnson being one of the primary superstars on the Lakers team in the early 80s was instrumental in getting rid of one coach to be replaced by the now legendary Pat Riley. LeBron James is one of the NBA’s current players who can be influential in who gets to coach his team. What if one of my current colleagues who is deemed a superstar employee could have the same influence to say, “I don’t want to be managed by Mr. or Ms. X, we need to get Mr. or Ms. Z from Y-location to be our leader.” It would be great if I was the superstar employee who could have that influence to bring in my person of choice, but, alas, I’m not. I’m pretty much “man-down” at work.

Draft Day

But, just think about it. If we all thought we could possibly be traded at the end of the year, wouldn’t we all work better? On our salary, who would want to move to another city or state at the end of each year? This could be a great way to keep employees motivated. As it is now in the public sector, it takes too long to get rid of a problem employee. Administrators are too concerned about being sued and it takes too long to pencil-whip someone out of the office causing the morale of others to suffer. It may cause some angst and anxiety not having job security, but, like the NFL’s Players Association, a union will be needed to ensure fairness.

I can’t be the only one who thinks like this. Is there someone in your office you would like to trade or send back to the minor leagues?

About LaKo

I'm a sports enthusiast who looks for lessons and analogies in sports and tries to apply those lessons to my personal and work life. In May 2013 I began my life as a runner with Black Girls Run!. Now, as a member of the Atlanta Track Club, I'm continuing my journey to preserve my sexy.
This entry was posted in LaKo's Lessons, Management Lessons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

