Know When to Walk Away

KnowWhenToFoldThemKnow when to run. Well, that’s exactly what Anthony Davis, offensive lineman of the San Fran 49ers, is doing. He’s walking away from the game for at least a year or two to allow his body and brain a chance to heal after suffering from lingering effects of a concussion. “It’s scary when your brain is not working how it’s supposed to,” Davis said.

I think it’s very admirable that he is walking away from a boat load of money to take care of his health, concentrating on healing his brain for a better life after football. I don’t know if I would have the courage to walk away from all that money. But, I do have to walk away from an athletic goal.

 The Peachtree Road Race

 Not exactly as big a deal as walking away from the NFL, but the Peachtree Road Race is like the Super Bowl to me. Instead of tormenting myself to get in shape to run 6.2 miles, I’ve decided to listen to my body like Anthony and ease into my training since I’ve really only started late May. Maybe if I had started around March or April following a training plan, I would be Peachtree ready by now. But, trying to start off at such a fast pace, putting 2-3 weeks of training into every week just doesn’t go well when you’re not in your 20s anymore.

In our culture, whether its athletes, white collar/blue collar workers, parents and students alike, we’re applauded for overextending ourselves. Being strong, doing more than we should do under the most challenging of circumstances. When, in reality, it is those who know their limits and have the courage to be honest and vulnerable about those limits that should be praised and applauded. So, cheers to you Anthony Davis and a pat on the back to me. When it comes down to it, all you have is your health. So, take care of it.

About LaKo

I'm a sports enthusiast who looks for lessons and analogies in sports and tries to apply those lessons to my personal and work life. In May 2013 I began my life as a runner with Black Girls Run!. Now, as a member of the Atlanta Track Club, I'm continuing my journey to preserve my sexy.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, The Mucus and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

