Will Politics Imitate Sports? Again?

Sarah Thomas, NFL Referee The NFL just announced that Sarah Thomas will become the first female referee in league history. Sarah, a fellow Mississippian, has worked her way up through the ranks, officiating NCAA games including bowl games. As a female football fan this is great news. I’m always for equal opportunity. But, is this good news for Hillary Clinton’s presidential run. Perhaps.

I truly believe that Tony Dungy’s coaching success in the NFL especially winning the Super Bowl may have helped Barack’s bid for president. It presented an often ignored image of black men as leaders. Dungy was a beloved coach on the highest level of America’s new favorite pastime, football. Sorry baseball fans. In some small way, I think this planted the seed for Americans acceptance of Barack Obama. Maybe, Sarah will help Hillary by changing the mindset to one where women are seen as leaders in the presidential arena that, up to this point, has only been filled by men. Only time will tell.

About LaKo

I'm a sports enthusiast who looks for lessons and analogies in sports and tries to apply those lessons to my personal and work life. In May 2013 I began my life as a runner with Black Girls Run!. Now, as a member of the Atlanta Track Club, I'm continuing my journey to preserve my sexy.
This entry was posted in LaKo's Lessons, Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

