Fired, but Paid

Ray Rice, the notorious wife beater, just won his grievance against the Baltimore Ravens for $1.588 million. While that’s a nice sum, especially for us working folks, it may be his last check from the NFL. Sports-Money-FiredPaid

I wish this could happen in the public sector. You know, as a way of getting those employees out, who are no longer useful. Maybe they had a good run, but are resting on their laurels. Or, even worse, they have such a bad attitude and such bad energy that it permeates the entire building as well as satellite locations. Yeah, those folks. I think it would be worth it to pay them off – pay their salaries for a year or two if they promise never to enter the building again. You may be asking, ” Well why don’t their supervisor deal with the situation appropriately?” That would be nice, but many in management don’t have the heart/nerve to make tough decisions or they are simply too passive aggressive to be that direct.

I’m sure the NFL knew there was a high probability that they would have to honor his contract. But, the error of termination was worth it in terms of dealing with public relations. I would argue that internal relations are just as important. Just think how much is lost in productivity when you have a bad apple in the bunch. If you can’t relate to what I’m talking about, then perhaps you’re that bad apple.

About LaKo

I'm a sports enthusiast who looks for lessons and analogies in sports and tries to apply those lessons to my personal and work life. In May 2013 I began my life as a runner with Black Girls Run!. Now, as a member of the Atlanta Track Club, I'm continuing my journey to preserve my sexy.
This entry was posted in LaKo's Lessons, Life Lessons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

