The Power of Team

I think I now finally and completely understand why it’s so hard for some players to retire

Black Girls RUN! South Atlanta - Meet & Greet 2014

Black Girls RUN! South Atlanta – Meet & Greet 2014

from the sport they love when it’s clear that their best playing days are behind them. Some can’t give up the limelight, others don’t know what else to do. But, for most, it’s probably the aspect of being on a team that’s most difficult to give up. The camaraderie. Shared passions goals. Being understood. Speaking the same language.

I felt this a few days ago when I attended Black Girls RUN! South Atlanta’s Meet and Greet. Now, I get some of this togetherness from our weekly runs. But, at the runs, there isn’t as much time for chatter. At the meet and greet, there were runners from other south Atlanta locations that I don’t run with, so I hadn’t met them before. Nonetheless, I think we were all comfortable connected because of our shared passion for running. We speak the same language. Have the same goals.

It’s nothing like meeting with similar-minded folks to reinvigorate, reenergize yourself with new ideas to achieve your goals and set new ones. A new goal for me that evolved is to runDisney (10K) in 2016 (2015 is already sold out). A new idea emerged to help achieve my PR goals (I’m all about speed and time) is to work with a personal trainer to build strength (core and legs).I’m also going to work with a nutritionist. Not radical ideas, but something that just hadn’t occurred to me. I’ll let you know how it all goes.

About LaKo

I'm a sports enthusiast who looks for lessons and analogies in sports and tries to apply those lessons to my personal and work life. In May 2013 I began my life as a runner with Black Girls Run!. Now, as a member of the Atlanta Track Club, I'm continuing my journey to preserve my sexy.
This entry was posted in LaKo's Lessons, Life Lessons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

