Passion in Life, Work, and Sports

Passion or being passionate is one of those characteristics that’s needed for a full life. I’ve been reading Onward by Howard Schultz, ceo of Starbucks Coffee Company (I didn’t make a mistake by typing ceo in all lower case.  That’s how they do it at Starbucks).  One thing is clear is that this guy is passionate about coffee.  Maybe that’s why it tastes so good. And, maybe that’s why Starbucks has rebounded so well after the economic downturn. I usually read this book right at bedtime and even then I want a cup of coffee just because he’s so passionate about it.   His passion clearly trickles down to the baristas and other store personnel who they call them partners.

Passion was clearly a deciding factor in the Super Bowl outcome.  Passion may be an invisible object, but you can still see it and feel it.  From the two weeks leading up to the Super Bowl to the first play of the game right up until we all knew the game was over, passion was on display. Richard Sherman of the Seattle Seahawks has been heavily criticized for his trash talk.  But, what I saw was passion.  That was a passionate exuberance after the game with the San Francisco 49ers regarding Michael Crabtree.  That kind of passion has to be contagious in the locker room and it’s apparent that it starts with head coach Pete Carroll. I didn’t see that passion from the Denver Broncos and although any good team should be able to recover from opening the game with a safety scored against them, it just seemed to exacerbate their fear.

What have we learned? Passion can turn around struggling companies and lead to Super Bowl victories. I’m hoping my passion for running can lead to better overall health.  What are you passionate about and how is it benefitting you?

About LaKo

I'm a sports enthusiast who looks for lessons and analogies in sports and tries to apply those lessons to my personal and work life. In May 2013 I began my life as a runner with Black Girls Run!. Now, as a member of the Atlanta Track Club, I'm continuing my journey to preserve my sexy.
This entry was posted in LaKo's Lessons, Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

