Lakers’ New Uniforms – a sign of desperation?

Since around 1977, my favorite NBA team has been the Los Angeles Lakers. Recently, the Lakers debuted a new uniform, the Hollywood Nights Jerseys that they will adorn for lakers-hollywood-nights-jerseysspecial occasions.  A few years ago, 2002 maybe, the Lakers introduced an all-white uniform. Now, I was a bit hesitant about the white uniforms until I realized that the Lakers were the only team that didn’t have a white jersey uniform.  At that time, the Lakers had only a purple uniform for away games and gold for home games.

At the risk of being labeled old school, I do not like massive changes to uniforms unless you were the Tampa Bay Bucs of the 1970s or some other perennial losing team. Or if there is a switch in uniform providers, i.e. a switch from Adidas to Nike. But even then, changes are minimal. But, for the Lakers, this doesn’t make any sense to me. This is one of the storied franchises of the NBA.  Your identity is in tact even though this is a rebuilding year. I’m okay with the jerseys for NBA’s Noche Latina events or anything representing and paying homage to life outside of sports. I just question the timing of these new uniforms. Are the Lakers desperately trying to stay relevant and in the conversation cause the NBA finals are seasons away for them? Or, is this a business move to sell more jerseys? I’m starting to think that Kobe’s number change from 8 to 24 was a business move as well and not an attempt to remove himself from the Colorado incident.

In our personal and work lives, change is often needed. But, let not that change be out of desperation without strategic thought. This uniform wreaks of desperation to me. So, before you boldly change your hair color/texture or work environment, ask yourself this. Would I be making this change if things were going according to my plan? If the answer is “Yes,” then by all means go ahead. If no, give it some more thought. Seek internal guidance.

About LaKo

I'm a sports enthusiast who looks for lessons and analogies in sports and tries to apply those lessons to my personal and work life. In May 2013 I began my life as a runner with Black Girls Run!. Now, as a member of the Atlanta Track Club, I'm continuing my journey to preserve my sexy.
This entry was posted in The Mucus and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

