7 habits of….

By now, most have heard of Stephen Covey’s book, 7 Habits of Highly Effective People.  In fact, it seems that there is a “7” list for just about everything.  Since I started running, I found this Seven Habits of Highly Effective Runner and Eater’s list.  I’m starting to think that if you want to be successful at anything in life, you should create a list of 7 things to get it done. With that in mind, I thought I would compare the two lists and  apply them to making my 7 list.


7 Habits of Highly Effective People


7 Habits of Highly Effective Runners

Be Proactive

Create a support network.

Begin With The End In Mind

Set goals.

Put First Things First

Keep track.

Think Win/Win

Plan ahead.

Seek First To Understand, Then To Be Understood


Have Reasonable Expectations

Synergize

Stay Consistent

Sharpen The Saw

See the value

How the Two Lists Mesh

  1. Create a support network is similar to being proactive since you are proactively creating a support network to keep you on track.
  2. Begin with the end in mind is goal planning. Set the end goal.
  3. Keep track/Put first things first – determine the steps you have to take to get to the end goal; and then, keep track of your progress before going to next step
  4. Plan ahead. Planning for challenges is win/win.
  5. Seek First to Understand/Have reasonable expectations – Going through the previous steps should lead to a greater understanding of what’s involved in achieving the end goal.  You may find that your expectations weren’t as reasonable as you thought. If not, adjust them and the goal if warranted.
  6. Synergize/Stay consistent. Stay consistent with the plan while staying open to new ways of accomplishing your goal.
  7. Sharpen the Saw/See the value – If your end goal and the steps to get there aren’t enjoyable, find a way to either make them enjoyable or find something else that brings you joy. If it’s a goal then it should add value to one aspect of your life.

My Running Goal – Run the Peachtree Road Race (10K) in 2014 under 2 hours.7 steps to getting there:

  1. My support network is family and friends and hopefully anyone reading this since I’ve gone public with this goal.
  2. I plan to run a 5K race each month of September, October, November and December of 2013.
  3. Running a race will help keep me motivated to stay on track by forcing me to continue to run each week.
  4.   I’ve noticed that I’m more motivated running with my BGR sisters, so I have to make it to some of those runs – will plan to do this at least once a week.
  5. My 5K race time in June with after a few weeks of training was 51:34.  I will have this down to 35 minutes or less by the end of 2013 – very reasonable expectation. (Side note: it was originally 45 minutes, but I surpassed that goal before this scheduled post.)
  6.   I will stay consistent in 2014, but will increase my weekly mileage running 6 miles at a time instead of 3.  Will begin running 10K races in March and each month until the PRR, decreasing my race time by three minutes each time.
  7. Find joy in the small accomplishments along the way. If I don’t reach my goal, my health will no doubt benefit from trying to get there – my sexy will be preserved!
About LaKo

I'm a sports enthusiast who looks for lessons and analogies in sports and tries to apply those lessons to my personal and work life. In May 2013 I began my life as a runner with Black Girls Run!. Now, as a member of the Atlanta Track Club, I'm continuing my journey to preserve my sexy.
This entry was posted in LaKo's Lessons, Life Lessons, Management Lessons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 7 habits of….

  1. Pingback: This Black Girl RUNS! | LaKo's Lessons from Sports

Leave a Reply

